Digital

Storytelling

 

 

 

January 2018 // Gustavus Adolphus College // Prof. Baker Lawley

SCHEDULE

Week One

Monday, Jan. 8

Introductions, syllabus

Respond to The Martian on this poll

PollEv.com/surveys/hwYGQbzwe

Tuesday, Jan. 9

Wednesday, Jan. 10

Thursday, Jan. 11

Friday, Jan. 12

Week Two

Monday, Jan. 15

NOTE: MLK Lecture at 10:30am in Christ Chapel. Post your attendance at the MLK lecture to Instagram with tag #gacdigistory (can be a selfie, shot of textbook at Chapel, a nice photo of several classmates together, etc.)

**Class starts at 11:30 today only**

Resources:
Story Structure in a nutshell

Story Structure using Good Will Hunting

Story Structure using Harry Potter and the Philosopher’s Stone

Tuesday, Jan. 16

Wednesday, Jan. 17

RESOURCES:

Cyber Squirrel

Hip Hop Map

Green Line Map, Minneapolis to St. Paul

Team-Produced Maps

Other Map Examples

Thursday, Jan. 18

  • Read Storymaps: The Five Principles of Good Storytelling
  • Watch this video map
  • Find 3 entries you think are cool on the Atlas Obscura map
  • Before class begins, post at least 2 photos on Instagram (with #gacdigistory tag) of specific campus spots (a desk, a stairwell, Cyclone Pizzeria, a square of a sidewalk, etc.) that are either 1) personally important to you (like something cool/sad/hilarious/embarrassing happened in that spot) or 2) interesting but usually overlooked.

RESOURCES:

How make a Google Map (video)

How to make a Story Map with arcgis

Templates & Apps for arcgis

How to make a Story Map with Knightlabs

How to make a Story Map with Google Tour Builder

7pm Keynote lecture in Wallenberg Auditorium! Dr. William Pannapacker, Hope College: “From Digital Humanities to Digital Liberal Arts”

Friday, Jan. 19

  • Story Map Lab
Week Three

Monday, Jan. 22

Tuesday, Jan. 23

Wednesday, Jan. 24

RESOURCES

Seers Catalogue

A Quick Twine Tutorial

Twine Wiki

Twine 2 Guide

A Ton Of Twine How-To Videos

Thursday, Jan. 25

  •  Twine Work Day

Friday, Jan. 26

  • Readings on Further Possibilities: Reach Ch. 11 from Digital Storytelling and browse through Chapters 15-23 to see if anything seems interesting 
  • Peer Review and Twine Work Day Part 2
  • Resources for Final Project ideas
Week Four

Monday, Jan. 29

  • Twine stories due: TURN IN HERE.
  • Final Project Proposals due

Tuesday, Jan. 30

  • Work Session

Wednesday, Jan. 31

  • Peer Review and Professor Conferences

 

Thursday, Feb. 1

  •  Work Session

Friday, Feb. 2

  • Final Project Presentations

GAC Digital Storytelling #gacdigistory

Load More
Something is wrong.
Instagram token error.